Miguel Sano Leads the Way in Minnesota Twins Awards


The Minnesota Twins announced the team award winners. Miguel Sano came out on top.

Sano won the team MVP and Rookie of the Year awards. He is the second Twins player to win both awards in the same year.

Sano’s impact was undeniable. Playing in 80 games, he slashed at .269/.385/.530. His 18 home runs and 52 RBI ranked fifth and tenth respectfully among all rookies. There is no denying he is deserving of ROY honers. However, some might argue that Brian Dozier should have won the team MVP award.

Dozier did not receive the MVP award but he was honored with the Community Service award.

Dozier played in 157 games and his 28 home runs led the team. His 2.4 WAR was 0.3 higher than Sano’s 2.1. But Dozier struggled, slashing .210/.280/.359 in the second half of the season. If the focus on is Dozier’s first half stats, he is clearly the Twins MVP. Yet his full body of work does not merit the award.

More from Puckett's Pond

Dozier did not receive the MVP award but was not empty-handed. He was honored with the Community Service award.

Other award winners included Kyle Gibson, who was named pitcher of the year.

Gibson had a career year. In his third year, Gibson’s ERA, games started, WHIP, strikeouts and innings pitched were all career bests. Although his FIP was higher than 2014, his H/9 was lower and SO/9 was higher. Gibson’s H/9 and SO/9 were also career bests. While pitching his best statistical season, his 3.2 WAR led the team.

Aaron Hicks was given the Most Improved award. Every part of his game was better. this season. His defense and especially his offensive numbers were noticeably improved. His confidence, most importantly, was back.

Torii Hunter won the Leadership Award for his hustle, good attitude and cooperation with the media.

Eddie Rosario, who could have challenged Sano for the Twins ROY, won the Defensive Player award. Rosario finished 2015 second in the AL in assists by an outfielder and range factor/game by a left fielder. His four double plays turned were the best among AL outfielders.

Max Kepler and Jose Berrios who were given Minor League Player and Minor League Pitcher of the year awards respectfully. Kepler was able to get his first major league hit on the last day of the season, while Berrios will be trying to make the Twins rotation in 2016.

The annual awards are chosen by the Twin Cities chapter of the Baseball Writers Association.

Next: Why Torii Hunter Should Retire After 19 Seasons