Minnesota Twins: Who should be next Twins Hall of Fame inductee?

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Minnesota Twins

MINNEAPOLIS, MN – JULY 16: Former Minnesota Twins player Torii Hunter speaks as he is inducted into the Minnesota Twins Hall of Fame in a ceremony before the game between the Minnesota Twins and the Cleveland Indians of the game on July 16, 2016 at Target Field in Minneapolis, Minnesota. (Photo by Hannah Foslien/Getty Images)

The Minnesota Twins announced their Hall of Fame class for 2018 on Friday, and MLB announces their Hall of Fame class today. In that spirit,
who should be in the 2019 Twins Hall of Fame class?

The Minnesota Twins announced the 2018 Minnesota Twins Hall of Fame class on Friday. As we prepare for MLB’s announcement of those inducted into Cooperstown in 2018, let’s look ahead to those who could be in the 2019 Twins HOF class.

Twins HOF background

The Twins Hall of Fame inducted its first class with a six-person group in 2000. That first induction class recognized the players whose uniforms hang from the rafters (or used to in the Metrodome) in Harmon Killebrew, Rod Carew, Tony Oliva, Kent Hrbek, and Kirby Puckett. Former owner Calvin Griffith was the sixth member of that inaugural class.

Since then, the Twins HOF has inducted 24 players, management, broadcasters, and other persons close to the team. Johan Santana will become the 31st member of the Twins Hall of Fame in August.

The breakdown of Twins HOF (including Santana):

  • 21 players
  • 3 broadcasters
  • 6 ownership/management/front office/coaching

Among those 21 players, here’s how their eras breakdown:

  • 8 played primarily in the 1960s
  • 2 played primarily in the 1970s
  • 5 played primarily in the 1980s
  • 2 played primarily in the 1990s
  • 4 played primarily in the 2000s

We will break down a number of possible candidates, beginning with players from the 1960s-1980s, then players in the 1990s, players from the 2000s-2010s, manager/coach possibilities, and then other Twins employees/front office members/broadcasters that should be considered. We’ll start with the group that is covered best in the Hall of Fame currently, the 1960s-1980s.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse