Minnesota Twins Minor League Leaders and Standouts as of August 17, 2017

SARASOTA, FL - MARCH 17: Kennys Vargas
SARASOTA, FL - MARCH 17: Kennys Vargas /
1 of 5
SARASOTA, FL – MARCH 17: Kennys Vargas
SARASOTA, FL – MARCH 17: Kennys Vargas /

The Minnesota Twins minor league system is having some significant success on a team level with multiple teams headed to the playoffs. Numerous players are having big years as well.

The Minnesota Twins are making news fighting for a playoff spot at the major league level, but their minor league affiliates are all above .500 and many are in position to head to the playoffs. Individual players are having great seasons as well, and promotions are seemingly coming throughout the system at the end of the minor league season for players to get a month-long look at a higher level, perhaps preparing them for a new level in 2018 or even finding out that they can be passed by that level altogether.

We’ll look first at the overall leaders, then take a look at each level and the leaders there. Let’s start with the overall leaders in the Minnesota Twins system:

Minnesota Twins Overall Minor League Leaders Top 5 (175 PA and 50 IP for rate stats)

AVG: Chris Paul .341, Zack Granite .339, Jermaine Palacios .309, Jonathan Rodriguez .308, Shane Carrier .300
OBP: Jonathan Rodriguez .409, LaMonte Wade .396, Zack Granite .394, Royce Lewis .392, Chris Paul .391
SLG: Mitch Garver .541, Brent Rooker .525, Jonathan Rodriguez .508, Chris Paul .481, Andy Wilkins .479
2B: Mitch Garver and Lewin Diaz 29, Nick Gordon and Thomas Field 28, Jonathan Rodriguez 27
3B: Travis Blankenhorn 10, Jermaine Palacios 9, Nick Gordon 8, Christian Cavaness 7, Six with 6
HR: Mitch Garver and Jonathan Rodriguez 17; Jermaine Palacios, Jaylin Davis, and Brent Rooker 13
SB: Tanner English 33, Aaron Whitefield 29, Samuel Vasquez 22, Jermaine Palacios 19, Zack Granite 18

W: Aaron Slegers 13, Clark Beeker and Fernando Romero 11, Dereck Rodriguez 10, Felix Jorge and Stephen Gonsalves 9
SV: John Curtiss 19, Hector Lujan 13, Sam Clay and Thomas Hackimer 9, Nick Anderson 8
G: Thomas Hackimer, Nick Anderson, and Colton Davis; John Curtiss, Sam Clay, Mason Melotakis, and Alex Robinson 37
GS: Eduardo Del Rosario and Sean Poppen 22; Fernando Romero, Aaron Slegers, Felix Jorge 21
IP: Aaron Slegers 130 1/3, Clark Beeker 128 2/3, Sean Poppen 128 1/3, Felix Jorge 127 2/3, Dereck Rodriguez 122 1/3
K: Nik Turley 121, Fernando Romero 115, Sean Poppen 113, Stephen Gonsalves 111, Dereck Rodriguez 106
ERA: Sam Clay 1.37, Fredderi Soto and Todd Van Steensel 1.42, Andrew Vasquez 1.59, Thomas Hackimer 1.99
WHIP: Thomas Hackimer 0.88, Michael Montero 0.92, Clark Beeker 0.93, Stephen Gonsalves 1.00, Tyler Wells 1.02

Next: AAA Leaders