Minnesota Twins End-of-Season Award Winners Announced


Credit: Rob Grabowski-USA TODAY Sports

Every year during the winter months on Fox Sports North we see the Diamond Awards and then we see reruns of the Diamond Awards until Spring Training hits. On Thursday, we found out the winners of the awards that will be handed out at said awards. The awards are voted on by the members of the Twin Cities chapter of the Baseball Writers Association, I assume my invitation to the group is in the mail.

It’s the 10th edition of the Diamond Awards this year. On the Star Tribune’s website Phil Millier has a list of each award and all ten winners of those awards over the years.

Here is who won what this season:

MVP (Calvin Griffith Award)Joe Mauer (third time winner, also won in 2009 and 2010)

Pitcher of the Year (Joseph Haynes Award) Glen Perkins (second time winner, also won in 2011)

Outstanding Rookie (Bill Boni Award)Caleb Thielbar

Most Improved Twin (Charles Johnson Award) Brian Dozier

Defensive Player of the Year (Jim Kaat Award) Pedro Florimon

Upper Midwest Player of the YearJordan Zimmermann

Good Guy (Mike Augustin Award) – Brian Dozier

Leadership (Bob Allison Award) Justin Morneau

Outstanding Community Service (Carl Pohlad Award) ­– Glen Perkins

Alumni Community Service (Kirby Puckett Award) Frank Quilici

The award that might be making you scratch is the Upper Midwest Player of the Year. That is a league wide award for a player that was born/raised in the Upper Midwest. Jordan Zimmermann is a starting pitcher, a good one at that, for the Washington Nationals and hails from Auburndale, Wisconsin. Joe Mauer is a five-time winner of this award.

The only players to win multiple awards in this edition of the awards were Brian Dozier and Glen Perkins who both took home two awards.